National Teacher Hall of Fame Inducts 5 New Members

In 1989, members of the Emporia, Kansas school board and Emporia State University created the National Teacher Hall of Fame to give teachers the honor they didn’t see being given anywhere else. This museum and hall of fame has inducted 130 teachers and has given Emporia the title of Teacher Town USA.

Emily Bogle/NPR

Emily Bogle/NPR

Every year, the National Teacher Hall of Fame honors 5 teachers who have taught for 20 years or more. This year’s honorees are Jonathan Gillentine, an early learning resource teacher in Honolulu, Hawaii; Matinga Ragatz, a social studies and world language teacher in Grand Ledge, Michigan; Bob Williams, a high school math teacher in Palmer, Alaska; Ashli Dreher, a special education teacher in Youngstown, New York; and Joseph Ruhl, a high school biology and genetics teacher in Lafayette, Indiana.

At Elevate Teachers, we’re excited to see teachers being celebrated with their own Hall of Fame. We hope to see more organizations supporting educators in the way they deserve.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees!

Click here to read the original article